For Immediate Release: September 8, 1999



Hollywood Salutes Jodie Foster: An American Cinematheque Tribute

to Premiere on TNT Sunday, October 17 at 8 p.m. ET/PT


David Hyde Pierce Set as Event Host

Two-time Oscar Award-winning actress Jodie Foster will be honored by her peers as Hollywood Salutes Jodie Foster: An American Cinematheque Tribute premieres as a 90-minute special exclusively on Turner Network Television (TNT) Sunday, October 17 at 8 p.m. ET/PT. The prestigious industry event, now entering its 14th year and its second as a TNT original special, will tape October 9 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel's International Ballroom in Beverly Hills, CA.

David Hyde Pierce will host the show. Talent confirmed to participate in the tribute include: Gillian Anderson, James Garner, Matthew McConaughey, Dylan McDermott and James Woods. Additional talent will be announced as they are confirmed.

Jodie Foster’s distinguished career includes two Best Actress Oscars (The Accused in 1988; Silence of the Lambs in 1991) and a Best Supporting Actress Oscar nomination (Taxi Driver in 1976). Foster has also worked behind the camera as a producer (Nell) and director (Little Man Tate, Home for the Holidays). Upcoming this Christmas, Foster will star in the title role in Anna and the King, which chronicles the true life adventures of British governess Anna Leonowens. Next year, Foster directs Flora Plum, starring Claire Danes.

Foster was the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque Board of Director's selection committee, which has, since 1986, annually honored an extraordinary artist (actor, producer, director or writer) in the entertainment industry who is fully engaged in his or her work and is committed to making a significant contribution to the art of film and video.

Twelve hundred entertainment industry notables are expected to attend the Moving Picture Ball, which will be held on Saturday, October 9, 1999 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel’s International Ballroom. This annual event is the American Cinematheque’s largest benefit, providing funds for the programs and operation of the non-profit film exhibition organization throughout the year. Benefit Co-Chairs for the event are Gillian Anderson, Mel Gibson, Sherry Lansing and Bill Mechanic.

Eddie Murphy received the first American Cinematheque Award in 1986, followed by Better Midler in 1987. Robin Williams was honored in 1988; Steven Speilberg in 1989; Ron Howard in 1990; Martin Scorsese in 1991; Sean Connery in 1992; Michael Douglas in 1994; Mel Gibson in 1995; Tom Cruise in 1996; John Travolta in 1997 and Arnold Schwarzenegger was last year’s honoree.

Tickets to the Moving Picture Ball, an elegant black-tie dinner followed by a multi-media award show with tributes to the honoree by friends and colleagues, may be purchased by calling Frances Kidd at 310-559-9334. Tickets start at $500.

Press wishing to obtain press credentials to cover this event must send a request on the letterhead of their media outlet indicating assignment and what type of coverage they are requesting (i.e. red carpet arrivals photography). Crews must indicate number of credentials needed. Requests should be faxed to Margot Gerber at 323-461-9737. You will be notified of your access one week prior to the event. No crews or press photographers will be admitted to the live event. TNT will make b-roll clips available following the event. In addition, still photography of the live event can be obtained by contacting the American Cinematheque or TNT.

Established in 1984, the American Cinematheque is a non-profit, viewer-supported film exhibition organization dedicated to the celebration of the moving picture in all formats. The Cinematheque owns and operates the historic 1922 Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard in Hollywood. Daily film and video range from the classics of world cinema to new international filmmaking; new American Independents (The Alternative Screen); and genre pictures from around the globe. Exhibition of rare works, special prints within the series and fascinating post-screening discussions with the filmmakers who created the work are Cinematheque traditions that keep avid film lovers coming back for once-in-a-lifetime cinema experiences. The Cinematheque recently finished the restoration and renovation of the Egyptian. For more information see


Hollywood Salutes Jodie Foster: An American Cinematheque Tribute will be executive produced by Robert Dalrymple and Paul Flattery. Sandy Shapiro is executive producer for TNT.

Turner Network Television, currently seen in more than 76 million homes, is Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.'s 24-hour, advertiser-supported service offering original motion pictures and miniseries; contemporary films from the world's largest film library; the combined Turner and Warner Bros. Film libraries; exciting NBA sports action; exclusive coverage of both the 2000 Winter and 2001 Summer Goodwill Games; and popular television series.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a subsidiary of Time Warner Inc., is a major producer of news and entertainment product around the world and the leading provider of programming for the basic cable industry.





Walter Ward TNT/Atlanta 404/885-0298

Shelia Jamison TNT/New York 212/852-6857

Nicole Marostica TNT/Los Angeles 310/788-6902

Margot Gerber American Cinematheque 323/461-2020 ext. 115